Danielle Keeling Jones – Success Story

What is your background with exercise and fitness training?

I didn’t really have any previous formal training in exercise and fitness, however, I am doing an apprenticeship at an aerial fitness studio in Congleton. I have always enjoyed dance and have had many dance classes over the years, I am also a keen runner.

Why did you choose the course you did?

The ETM course was offered to me through my employer as part of my apprenticeship. I figured it would be a good thing to add to my previous qualifications and would give me the confidence to teach more and become a better instructor.

Why did you choose HFE to deliver your training?

HFE organised my apprenticeship, so it only made sense to do it with them, alongside my other qualification.

What did you enjoy most about your course?

The best thing about the course was talking to my HFE tutor Gregg. He was very helpful and very easy to get along with. Any problems I had he was right there to sort them or help me out (even if I was emailing him like 20 times a day when I was struggling!).

What did you find most challenging about your course?

I found the exams the most challenging part of the course, as I don’t cope very well under pressure, particularly in exams. I also found it quite hard to balance my ETM coursework with my apprenticeship work and my normal day to day work tasks.

How would you rate the quality of teaching provided by your course tutors?

The course tutors at HFE are amazing and excellent at their job, I don’t know what I would’ve done without them.

To what extent did you feel supported during the home-study phase of your course?

I felt exceptionally well supported during my home study phase as Gregg was there for anything I ever needed. I found the books very useful and full of information, and the website was also very helpful.

How would you rate the teaching and learning materials provided to you?

The learning materials given to me were very informative and useful and full of extremely helpful diagrams which made learning the more in depth aspects much easier.

What is your current role?

I am currently an apprentice at Body Couture Well Being Centre, Congleton. I teach some classes, I help out with other classes and I take care of admin and other general duties around the studio.

What are your future training and career plans?

In the future, I plan to carry on teaching and instructing fitness classes. I also plan to audition for circus school and if successful, I will study for my foundation degree and then my BA in Circus Arts.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Step inside the world of health and fitness

Back to top